American University Students Celebrate

This video shows AU students’ reactions to the death of Osama bin Laden.

On May 1, 2011 (now dubbed V-OBL Day), I had already completed my freshman year at AU and was celebrating my 19th birthday at Fenway Park in Boston, Massachusetts. I watched the news at home with my parents. However, I received a 1:00am phone call from fellow AU Ambassadors from the White House. Once they are done with their final exams and papers, I imagine they’ll write a more detailed, first-hand response. In the meantime, please check out the above link and those that I’ve listed below. These pieces really exemplify the excitement associated with being a student in Washington, DC. We look forward to welcoming you all to our “Most Politically Active” student body in August!

* The Eagle, AU’s student newspaper, made this video profiling the event in front of the White House.

* An AU student’s personal report from in front of the White House was picked up by CNN.com.

Like many other college students at 10:15 on a Sunday night, I was cramming for my Monday morning exam as diligently as I could.
Just a few minutes later, however, I heard that there was to be breaking news at the White House. Like any aspiring journalist, I knew that I had to grab my camera and make my way into the mix in front of the White House.
I wasn’t the only one. It seemed like the entirety of the American University student body was on the way to Pennsylvania Avenue, and with good reason.

* AU students’ photos from the White House.


Photo by Tyler Sadonis

* Slate profiled the individuals in front of the White House, which was largely composed of DC-area college students.

The sprinting started a few blocks away from the White House. Groups of friends parked their cars wherever they felt they could get away with it; troupes of college students from American University, GWU, George Mason and other schools bolted out of the nearest Red and Orange metro stops. They ran, or skated, or literally skipped toward 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. Their soundtrack came from cars that blasted anything vaguely patriotic — “I Am A Real American,” “Born in the U.S.A.,” even Miley Cyrus’s “Party in the U.S.A.”

* Bin Laden’s Death Historical Day for AU Students, from American Today

* Faculty Experts on the Death of Osama bin Laden

* AU students were profiled in a Washington Post article concerning the event.

American University students were studying for finals when news of Osama bin Laden’s death spread through Facebook, Twitter and their dorm hallways. There was disbelief, then celebration as they scoured the Web for information and packed around televisions to hear President Obama confirm the news. Then they looked for a ride to the White House.

* An AU student was quoted in a New York Times article concerning the event.

Reflecting the experiences of many others, Tim Nicholson, a student at American University who was 9 years old on Sept. 11, 2001, told Slate that he heard about the Bin Laden’s death when “I saw someone change a status on Facebook.”

* America’s Most Political Students React to bin Laden

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 751 other followers

