Going Tourist for the Night

I love being in DC. There is so much to do every day of the week. One of the things that never gets old is the monuments. It’s midterm time here at AU and both my friend Nathan and I were feeling pretty burnt out. We decided to take a trip to the monuments to have some fun. After a ride on the metro, we arrived on the National Mall. The first monument we visited was the Washington monument. Although we couldn’t go up to it since they are working on fixing it, Nathan and I got to walk around and see it all lit up.

The Washington Monument

Next, we headed off to the World War Two memorial. One of my favorite parts is the wall of stars. It is known as  the freedom wall and each star represents 100 American military deaths during WWII. My grandfather served in WWII and I always think of him every time I visit the memorial.

Star Wall

We then walked to the newest monument, the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial. This was the first time Nathan and I visited this memorial. The memorial was much larger in real life than I ever thought. Being in the presence of this memorial made me feel so small and helped me reflect on the life and accomplishments of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

Surrounding the memorial are two granite walls with inscriptions of MLK quotes.

Quotes from MLK Memorial

We ended our tour with the Lincoln monument. It always amazes me how long it takes me to get up those stairs! It is amazing to look at the memorial to a man who did so much to keep our country together.

The Lincoln Memorial

 This was a great little trip that definitely helped me get through the rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 745 other followers

